Categories

What is a “felony DUI” in South Carolina?

,

Felony DUI is that worst case scenario. Driving under the influence is typically a misdemeanor offense. Any DUI is a serious charge because of the many consequences. But when a DUI is charged as a felony, the stakes are even higher, with the real possibility of prison time. When does a DUI become a felony? … Read more

Read More

Should You Submit To Breath And Field Sobriety Tests?

Being pulled over for suspicion of drunk driving is an extremely frightening and jarring experience. Many questions may arise in the mind of the driver: What should I say? Why did they pull me over? Do I have to take a breath test if they ask? Should I do field sobriety tests if they ask … Read more

Read More

The risks of driving while drugged

Driving while under the influence of drugs brings to mind a scary boogeyman or reckless college student. However, the reality is far blander. The decriminalization and legalization of formerly illegal substances have led to a rise in drugged driving arrests. There is no uniform reporting and assessment system, so it is difficult to track the trends; … Read more

Read More

Drivers underage 21 subject to zero-tolerance drinking laws

Young people are subject to a different set of rules when it comes to the consumption of alcoholic beverages. Put simply, you cannot legally drink until you are 21 years old. As such, the legal limit for blood alcohol content is lower for underage drinkers than it is for adults. Every state and the District … Read more

Read More

The consequences of a DUI charge

A driving while under the influence charge involves the operation of a vehicle while you are under the influence of alcohol, drugs or some other substance that impairs reaction time or judgment. A person who is convicted of a DUI charge most likely faces some sort of criminal punishment including and up to time in … Read more

Read More

What is Emma’s Law?

Charges of driving under the influence have always been serious business in South Carolina. On Oct. 1, 2014, Gov. Nikki Haley signed new legislation into law that considerably strengthened the penalties for drunk drivers. This legislation, known as Emma’s Law, is named for a girl who died in an accident involving a repeat DUI offender. Now penalties for drunk … Read more

Read More

How common are DUI arrests?

Throughout South Carolina, countless individuals have been charged with drunk driving at one time or another. Some have escaped conviction, whereas others were not that fortunate. In either case, the preceding process is much the same. Officers attempt to determine your blood alcohol concentration and find out whether it is in excess of the legal … Read more

Read More

An excessive BAC may be it all takes to be charged

You may know your limits, but if they are above the legal level of 0.08 percent, you could still get into trouble, no matter how confident you are behind the wheel. A single mistake on the part of any road user can result in an accident. However, if you are involved in that accident and … Read more

Read More

What elements are involved in a drunk driving charge?

Most drivers in South Carolina know that being charged with a drunk driving offense can be highly problematic and could lead to serious consequences. Even if no one is hurt in the incident, you may still be charged if your blood alcohol concentration is found to be over the state’s legal limit of 0.08 percent. … Read more

Read More

Officers may be mistaken about who was driving during a DUI

When accidents occur in South Carolina they can often be traumatic for all concerned, especially if someone was injured in the incident. Suddenly you find yourself having to exchange details with other drivers, speak to medical staff and try to explain the situation to attending officers. The shock of the crash may leave you confused … Read more

Read More